# **Pre registration form**

EUKUTHERM SEMINAR 95										
Computational Thermal Radiation in Participating Media IV										
Title										]
Last Name										]
First Name										]
Affiliation										]
										]
Dpt.										]
										]
Address										]
ZIP										]
Town										]
Country										]
Phone										]
Fax										]
E-mail										]

I intend to submit a paper Title (attempt):

# .....

# Fill the form or upload your abstract on the www page:

http://eurotherm.CTRPM4.inpl-nancy.fr/

# **Practical information**

Following the conferences held in Mons (2003), Poitiers (2006) and Lisbon (2009), EUROTHERM-CTRPM4 will be the fourth edition of a now well established series of seminars devoted to numerical methods in radiative transfer through participating media

#### Language

The seminar official language will be English.

#### Venue

EUROTHERM 95 is hosted by LEMTA laboratory from the University of Nancy. Nancy is the historical capital of Lorraine, in north east of France, and is located 300 km east from Paris. The 5<sup>th</sup> university town in France with one student per seven inhabitants, Nancy is a dynamic city renowned for its extraordinary cultural and artistic heritage. Its famous Place Stanislas is regarded as the most beautiful royal square in Europe and its old town is a direct legacy of the Dukes of Lorraine.

Nancy is easy to reach, connected to Paris by the TGV train (1h30 from Paris and the Paris Charles de Gaulle airport TGV train station).

More information about Nancy can be found at: <a href="http://www.ot-nancy.fr/">http://www.ot-nancy.fr/</a>

#### Web Site

Information on the seminar can be found at: <u>http://eurotherm.CTRPM4.inpl-nancy.fr/</u>

### Seminar Secretariat

Pr. D. LACROIX LEMTA, CNRS, Nancy Université FST – BP 70239 54506 Vandoeuvre cedex, France Phone: +33.3.83.68.46.88 Fax : +33.3.83.68.46.86 E-mail: <u>ctrpm4@lemta.uhp-nancy.fr</u>

# FIRST ANNOUNCEMENT CALL FOR ABSTRACTS

Eurotherm Seminar 95





# Computational Thermal Radiation in Participating Media IV

April 18-20, 2012 Nancy, France





Organized by

LEMTA, CNRS Université de Lorraine, Nancy, France

## About EUROTHERM

The series of EUROTHERM Seminars established by the Committee has become a popular forum for high-level scientific and technical interchange of ideas in a wide range of specialist topics. While the presentation and publication of papers at the Seminars are encouraged, the primary aim is to stimulate discussion and liaison between specialist aroups. The President of EUROTHERM in 2010-2014 is Prof. Anton A. van Steenhoven, Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands (Email: a.a.v.steenhoven@tue.nl). Information on future SEMINARS is available from the Secretary, Prof. Darina Murray, Professor Darina B. Murray, School of Engineering, Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland (E-mail: dmurray@tcd.ie).

For more information, see: www.eurothermcommittee.eu

### Scientific scope and topics

This seminar will present the state of the art and the modern trends in computational radiative transfer in participating media. It will focus on novel and improved solution techniques as well as on their applications to actual engineering problems. The main topics of the seminar will be:

- New developments for the solution of Radiative Transfer Equation.
- Monte-Carlo methods and coupling of MC with other techniques.
- Radiative transfer in complex geometries and/or optically complex media.
- Radiative transfer problems at micro and nanoscales.
- Turbulence-radiation interactions.
- Inverse methods in radiative transfer.
- Gas and plasma radiation modelling.

- Radiative properties of particles, agglomerates and disperse systems.
- Coupled heat transfer problems involving radiative effects.
- Applications to combustion systems, fire safety, high temperature heat exchangers, glass manufacturing, and high temperature thermal protection devices.

### Instructions for authors, deadlines

Paper selection will be based upon a reviewed abstract of 500 words minimum with a maximum of two pages. Abstract should clearly state the purpose, the methodology, the results and the conclusions of the work. It should indicate the name of the authors, affiliation and address with phone, fax and e-mail. Preferably, abstracts should be prepared according to the templates from the conference website. The abstract should be then uploaded on the conference website. Both oral and poster contributions are accepted. About 40 oral contributions will be selected and a poster session will be organized.

The accepted papers will be published in a bound volume that will be distributed to the participants. A selection of best papers will be proposed for publication in J. of Quant. Spec. Rad. Transfer.

Abstract due: November 1, 2011 Notification of acceptance: November, 5 2011 Full paper due (10 pages): **December, 1 2011** Notification of acceptance: January, 15 2012 Camera ready paper: February, 15 2012

### **Proceedings**

The communication texts will be published in a bound volume that will be distributed to the participants.

## Registration

Registration fee is 375 Euros. This includes the lunches and coffee breaks, the conference dinner and a social event. Registration for graduate students is 225 Euros. The fees must be received at the seminar secretary on March, 1<sup>st</sup>, 2011.

### **Scientific Committee**

Chairs:

P. Boulet, LEMTA, Nancy, France D. Lemonnier, Insitut P', Poitiers, France N. Selçuk, Middle East Technical Univ., Ankara, Turkey P. Lybaert, Faculté Polytechnique de Mons, Belgium Members: R. Bialecki STU Gliwice Poland P. Coehlo Inst. Sup. Tecnico Lisboa Portugal L.A. Dombrovsky IHT Moscow Russia M. El Hafi ENSTIMAC Albi France ]. Howell Univ. of Texas Austin U.S.A. S. Kumar Polytechnic University of New York U.S.A. W. Lipinski Univ. of Minnesota USA F. Liu Inst. Chem. Proc. and Environ. Tech. Canada W. Malalasekera Louahborouah University U.K. S. Maruyama Inst. of Fluid Science Tohoku Japan M. P. Mengüc Ozyegin Univ. Istanbul Turkey M. Mishchenko NASA Goddard Inst. USA L. Pilon Univ. of California Los Angeles USA S. Rukolaine Ioffe Inst St. Petersburg Russia C. Salinas Univ. of Campinas Sao Paulo Brazil A. Soufiani EM2C École Centrale Paris France

- R. Vaillon CETHIL INSA Lyon France
- B. Webb Briaham Young University U.S.A.
- Z. Zhang Georaia Inst. of Tech. USA
- H.C. Zhou Huazhong Univ. of Sci. and Tech. Wuhan China

#### Organizing Committee:

Z. Acem, P. Boulet, A. Collin, S. Fumeron, G. Jeandel, D. Lacroix, E. Lang, B. Monod, G. Parent, V. Reichhart, LEMTA, Nancy



